Isfara River - The River of Friendship

Venue : Kyrgyzstan-Tajikistan  

Within the framework of the CAREC “Smart Waters” project, which is a joint project of USAID and the MSDSP project of the Aga Khan Foundation,  a meeting on “Isfara River - the River of Friendship” was organized by the Tajik and Kyrgyz Small Basin Councils of the Isfara River Basin on 05 November 2019 in Isfara, the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Isfara River Basin belongs to the Syr Darya River Basin and is located on the territory of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The drain of the Isfara River Basin is mainly formed from the glaciers and snowfields of the Turkestan Range. The river flows along the administrative borders of the Batken region of the Kyrgyz Republic, Isfara and Kanibadam districts of the Republic of Tajikistan. The Kyrgyz side takes water from the Isfara river to the Tortgul reservoir with a volume of 91 million m3, 9 million m3 of which are provided for water consumers of the Isfara and Kanibadam districts. The water resources of the Isfara river are shared between Tajikistan and Uzbekistan at the Ravat hydrosystem in the Kanibadam district of Tajikistan. The water is supplied to the irrigated lands of the Kanibadam district through the left-bank channels “Kyrgyz”, “Kuchkak”, “Kanibadam”, “Ravat-1” and “Ravat-2” of the Kanibadam district.  Through the right-bank channels “New” and “Rapkan” the water is supplied to Besharyk region of Uzbekistan.

For more information, please visit